The presidents of ICPM have each served a 2-year term. They have been innovators in psychosomatic research and have made major contributions to the advancement of the field of psychosomatic medicine. The first president, Eric Wittkower was one of the early pioneers of psychosomatic medicine. He had done many of the early studies on the influence of emotions on the function of bodily organs in normal and neurotic individuals. He was succeeded by Mauricio Knobel, a prominent psychoanalyst from Argentina and Brazil. In 1975, Morton Reiser became president. Succeeding Professor Reiser was Professor Yujiro Ikemi, a major figure in Japanese psychosomatic medicine. In 1979, Adam Krakowski became the fifth president of ICPM. Dr. Krakowski had been instrumental in helping to organize the College in 1971, along with colleagues from North and South America and Sweden. From 1981 to 1983, Jan Bastiaans was president of the College. Ever since the Dutch psychiatrist Querido tried to establish a biopsychosocial approach to medicine in the 1950s and 1960s. In 1983, Chase Kimball became president. He was strongly committed to the development of consultation-liaison psychiatry in the United States and, as an international lecturer on the subject, encouraged those in other countries to pursue the field. From 1985 to 1987, Cairns Aitken was president. He was also editor of the Journal of Psychosomatic Research. In 1987, Juan Lopez-Ibor, Jr., assumed the presidency. The next president of ICPM, from 1989 to 1991, was Herbert Weiner. He has been a major figure in the history of psychosomatic medicine. In 1991, Michael von Rad of Munich became president of ICPM. His many studies of alexithymia contributed to the clarification as well as the continuing controversy about this interesting topic. Atara Kaplan de Nour was the 12th president of ICPM from 1993 to 1995. She had been Chairman of the Department of Psychiatry at Hadassah University Medical School and had a special interest in the psychological aspects of renal disease. In 1995, the UK was again represented, this time by Hubert Lacey. It was under Lacey’s presidency that the College’s constitution was completely rewritten to reflect more contemporary requirements. Don Byrne of Australia assumed the presidency from 1997 to 1999. He hosted two memorable Congresses in his country. Don Lipsitt was president 1999–2001. He has had a major impact in the ongoing functioning of ICPM and on the field of psychosomatic medicine in general to this day. Tatjana Sivik became president 2001–2003. She organized the 2001 Congress. From 2003 to 2005, George Christodoulou was president. Tom Sensky was president 2005–2007. He was a founding Fellow of the Academy of Cognitive Therapy and is an expert on evidence-based practice. Giovanni Fava was president from 2007 to 2009. A noted researcher and editor of the journal Psychotherapy and Psychosomatics, he was the prime mover in affiliating that journal with ICPM. From 2009 to 2011, Jon Streltzer was president after serving ICPM for many years as Secretary. From 2011 to 2013, Chiharu Kubo was president. Prof. Kubo was Chair of the Department of Psychosomatic Medicine, Kyushu University and also president of the Asian College of Psychosomatic Medicine for many years. He is currently President of Kyushu University. Professor Kubo was followed by Thomas Wise, 2013–2015, who has long been a scholar and leader in psychosomatic medicine. Antonio Barbosa was president from 2015 to 2017, after organizing a successful Congress in 2013. In 2017, Fiammetta Cosci became president and will also organize the 2019 Congress.

Presidents of ICPM

Eric Wittkower, Canada 1970–1973
Mauricio Knobel, Argentina 1973–1975
Morton Reiser, USA 1975–1977
Yujiro Ikemi, Japan 1977–1979
Adam Krakowski, USA 1979–1981
Jan Bastiaans, Netherlands 1981–1983
Chase Kimball, USA 1983–1985
Cairns Aitken, UK 1985–1987
Juan Lopez-Ibor, Jr., Spain 1987–1989
Herbert Weiner, USA 1989–1991
Michael von Rad, Germany 1991–1993
Atara Kaplan deNour, Israel 1993–1995
Hubert Lacey, UK 1995–1997
Don Byrne, Australia 1997–1999
Don Lipsitt, USA 1999–2001
Tatjana Sivik, Sweden 2001–2003
George Christodoulou, Greece 2003–2005
Tom Sensky, UK 2005–2007
Giovanni Fava, Italy 2007–2009
Jon Streltzer, USA 2009–2011
Chiharu Kubo, Japan 2011–2013
Thomas Wise, USA 2013–2015
Antonio Barbosa, Portugal 2015–2017
Fiammetta Cosci, Italy 2017-2019
Kyung Bong Koh, South Korea, 2019-2022
Hochang Benjamin Lee, US 2022-
Stephan Zipfel, Germany President-elect